Policie about linking to "illegal" software

Par tfh

Prophet (3000)

Portrait de tfh

02-08-2007, 12:55

Ehrm, I am sorry.. but I am a bit surprised after checking the link mentioned in the "Rare MSX hardware from Brazil found" newspost . One of the most notable things which can be found there is a modified Nightmare ROM, which is copyrighted, according to me.
From what I understood, these kind of links aren't allowed by the MRC.
I know that the link also points to a page where some information can be found about this rare hardware, but it just doesn't feel right...

!login ou Inscrivez-vous pour poster

Par hap

Paragon (2039)

Portrait de hap

02-08-2007, 13:02

I'm not surprised, the information on that site is more valuable than the ROM being provided for download. Besides, look at the difference here:
this will be moderated: http://www.youbetitwill!.com :RNFF:
this won't: http://www.tabajara-labs.com.br/msx/fort_games/

Par Manuel

Ascended (18237)

Portrait de Manuel

02-08-2007, 13:31

I'm also not surprised. The site doesn't contain loads of warez nor isn't focussed on it. So, companies interested in MSX revival won't be annoyed much (or at all) by such a site.

Par Sama

Ambassador (2061)

Portrait de Sama

02-08-2007, 14:33

Discussions about the copyright policies have taken place quite often in the past. Nothing new has happened here. That site offers something new and when something new is offered, it deserves a news post. If there happens to be a ROM image wandering about on that site, pity... Note that I am not rewriting the policies here (so this is no new definition or anything), but I only try to elucidate that there IS some flexibility with this. Hap and Manuel have spotted that correctly. MRC admins and webmasters do have some discretionary power, for that matter Wink.

Par tfh

Prophet (3000)

Portrait de tfh

02-08-2007, 15:14

Ok, thanks for the answer...
And besides that, it looks I need to follow some English lessons again.. OMG....